elder and cannon architects logo
Custom House

Greenock’s Custom House was built in 1818 for HM Customs and Excise to the design of the renowned Scottish Architect William Burn . This grand and imposing Neoclassical structure still dominates the Greenock quayside. It’s significance is recognised by its Category A listing and it is one of the last remaining Custom House buildings in the United Kingdom and on its completion was the the major focal point for Scotland’s west coast trade.

This phased adaptive restoration project for Riverside Inverclyde involved the conservation and repair of the historic fabric together with full upgrade of the building, services and access to current standards, part of its overall transformation to a new Business Centre with conference facilities suited to the tenants and wider community. A series of ‘grand rooms’ of different characters and scales provide a unique and varied range of accommodation - with the now restored light filled Neoclassical Long Room being one of Scotland’s most elegant volumes.

Scottish Design Award High commendation 2018